Major Winter Storm – One Models View

***Watch WISN 12 News for the latest weather information!***

***Winter Weather Advisory in effect from Monday AM – Tuesday PM***

***Blizzard Watch in effect from Tuesday PM – Wednesday PM***

Thank you for stopping by the Weather Watch 12 blog!  A major winter storm will begin to impact our area on Monday.  The snow will come in two waves, the first begins Monday morning.

Winter weather advisories are posted for southeast Wisconsin from Monday into Tuesday afternoon.  The first round of snow should bring about 4″-8″ of snow!  The higher totals will occur near Lake Michigan.

Here is how our in-house computer model, the RPM handles the snow from Monday through 8am Tuesday.

The main storm will move in our direction Tuesday Night into Wednesday.  The track of the storm will continue to shift around some in the next 48 hours, but it is becoming clearer that some heavy snow will move into southern Wisconsin.  The views from various models do differ on how much snow, so I thought I would post one of the higher forecast totals I’ve seen so far.

And again, make sure to watch WISN 12 News for our official forecast.  Below is the RPM total snow forecast through Wednesday.  I think this would be a storm that many would remember for years if it played out like this!

In combination with the snow, winds will gust to around or over 40mph!  This will create blizzard conditions in some areas.  If you have travel plans late Tuesday or Wednesday, you may want to consider make alternate plans to avoid the potentially dangerous travel conditions!

Look for another update in the blog after our 5:30 newscast!

Snow lovers…this may finally be your big storm!

Jeremy Nelson

17 Responses

  1. Oh wow!! Could these really be the snow amounts. The southern counties near the lake shore could see over 2ft?? I am getting really excited now. I wanted snow and now we may be getting the most in several years. Woo!!!! I shouldn’t get too excited because anything can change.

  2. YIPPIE SKIPPIE!!!!! I seriously feel like a little kid in a candy store right now. I’m REALLY crossing my fingers this storm plays out right for SE Wisconsin. I’ve been waiting for a new blog to come out and this just totally made my day. Will be watching at 5:30 for the newest update. Keep up the fantastic work guys! And thanks for keeping all of us so updated on everything.

    • A big thank you for the team at wisn. There’s really nowhere else i can go to get updates so often.

      • Justin,

        Our pleasure! While I am busy getting graphics ready and looking over new info, we always make time to answer questions.

        Jeremy

  3. Incredible stuff, just incredible. 🙂

  4. Jeremy – wondering if there is enough of a window for me to drive south (eventual destination Dallas, but I’m willing to go out of my way to avoid the storm) early Tuesday morning before the big one hits, or if things will clear up enough to leave early afternoon on Wednesday…

  5. All I can say is wow. This is in line with the NAM, GEM, GFS too right? Someone correct me if I’m wrong. Thanks Jeremy and WISN WW Team for keeping us updated and allowing us viewers to ask questions! 🙂

  6. Thanks for the update Jeremy, I have been looking forward to the return of this “signature storm” since the last one brought us merely rain back in December. If this storm tracks favorably for large snow amounts…..it would certainly make up for our lack of snow in December.

    Looking forward to tracking this storm in the coming days!

  7. Anyone know how to subscribe to comments on a post without having to comment first?

  8. Jeremy, any worries that the storm will come in farther to the north-west and bring us ice instead of snow?
    In the 18z runs that 540 line is getting uncomfortably close on Wed.

    • I think you stay in snow…

  9. Any idea when some warnings will be issued if we get any? 🙂

    • Through the anticipated path, the change over to warnings has begun from NWS office to office. I would expect to see many of them in by tomorrow morning. Some fringe areas may wait on another run or two of data.

  10. Another nice looking graphic from the NWS 🙂

  11. Hi Jeremy!

    It looks like even Dodge County is in line to get in on this one, right??

    I lived through the 1967 blizzard in south suburbs of Chicago — 23″ shut down the whole area — literally! That’s the biggest snow I ever remember seeing at one time. It was cool!

    I’m thinking this may be the second highest?

    Thanks to you Jeremy, and all the WW 12 Team for giving us the heads up on this one back in December already and for all that you have done/are doing to teach us and keep us updated.

    Now hopefully, too much doesn’t change as far as storm track. Looking forward to some snowdays this week.

    Don in Reeseville

  12. how much is considered for kenosha total? I have heard some very large total numbers which have me worried.

    • Dan, I live in Kenosha too. Looks like we could see up to 26″ here.

Leave a Reply

