Early Look At Mid-Week Storm

***Watch WISN 12 News for the latest weather information!***

Thank you for spending part of your weekend here on the Weather Watch 12 blog!  I wanted to provide a quick update in regards to the wet looking storm system that will impact our area Tuesday Night through early Thursday.

The week should start quiet, possibly some snow showers or flurries Monday Night, but overall most of the heavier precipitation should wait until Tuesday Night or early Wednesday before arriving.

We get new data in our weather center about every 4 hours.  Below is just a snapshot from our in-house computer model at 6am Wednesday.  This shows low pressure over Illinois, with mainly rain forecast in our area at this time.  The blue represents snow.  This clearly will not be the final solution for the storm, but certainly a believable solution in my opinion this far out.

RPM Wednesday 6am

This would be a cold rain with temperatures in the 30s to low 40s, with a wind coming in off Lake Michigan.  Make sure to watch WISN 12 News at 5:30 and 10:00pm for the latest data.

Look for a new blog entry later this evening on flood potential over the next couple of months, and a hint at the April long range forecast.

Have a great day!

Jeremy Nelson

10 Responses

  1. Please keep us updated often…
    It’s important to me..
    Plowing Etc.

    • Rich,

      Thanks for reading. JB did some great things for AccuWx before moving on. I believe in the LRC and this is the time of year that some home runs can be hit using it. I am very confident that next Friday Night – Saturday could bring accumulating snow to an area from Minnesota into Wisconsin, possibly in our area too. This is a direct match to December 4. It shouldn’t amaze me, but it does!

      Jeremy

      • Humbling and awe inspiring.

  2. Jeremy,

    Hit 40 degrees today. I have reason to suspect that doing so might have been a bit unusual. Based on info you have, does my 40 degrees seem more than a bit out of line when compared to nearby locations?

    Cordially,
    Tony (Pl. Prairie)

    • Tony,

      That seems pretty warm. You should have been closer to 32 I think.

      Jeremy

      • Jeremy,

        That’s what I thought too! Here’s what I had planned to originally post.

        I’m 100% serious about this. Hope I’m not wasting your time, but please do not hesitate to inform me if I am. Passing this along thinking you might find it interesting. I’m fairly certain I hit at least 40 degree today (around 11am to 1pm) or so. The interesting, to me any way part, is that based on information I’ve been able to access, it seems my location was in a ‘bubble’ of warm air perhaps 10 to 12 degrees warmer than nearby areas. Could this have been a (mezo? ,meso?) event? Please note, the 40 degrees or so was measured using 4 different thermometers here. Sky was fairly heavy overcast at the time with no noticeable bright filtered sun. The only reason was I out with the 4 thermometers is that I was checking to see how closely they agreed with one another. Any thoughts or comments?

        Cordially,
        Tony

      • Tony,

        With the atmospheric conditions today, I’m not sure how your area would have been 40. Both Kenosha(near the lake) and Burlington(inland) were in the low 30s. Sorry I can’t be of more help:)

        Jeremy

      • Jeremy,

        No appology necessary. I hardly believed it myself. I was hoping that you might have had some info that would lend some credibility to my experience.

        Respectfully,
        Tony (Pl. Prairie)

      • Tony, I don’t know how 4 thermometers could all be “off” so precisely. Something unique was occurring on your property. 🙂

      • Hi Josh!

        Yeah, it was really weird. 2 of the thermometers were min/max types, one of which was ‘liquid column’, the other a mechanical (bimetallic) I guess. The third was a regular liquid column outdoor type. For good measure, I put out an ‘instant read’ type that I have for cooking! Add to that, I went out there in just a tee-shirt and unbuttoned flannel shirt. Didn’t feel like ‘freezing’ to me! Also, the thermometers were left out for a couple of hours. Also had a small puddle of liquid water on my concrete patio where this all took place. I’m about 3 ½ miles southeast of the Kenosha airport and from what I saw on the NWS site, I don’t think they got much if at all above the freezing mark today.
        Thanks for taking the time to post a comment to me.

        Cordially,
        Tony (Pl. Prairie)

Leave a Reply

